Happy 67th Republic Day India!


Last year this time, I was in Singapore with a couple of my Indian friends. We sang our National Anthem there, like we always do in India to celebrate Republic Day on every 26th January.

It was the first Republic Day I was away from home. I missed my country dearly & wished I were at home with all my heart. I promised myself, I would never spend another Indian Republic/ Independence Day away from my beloved country. I want to be present to celebrate my country with the rest of my countrymen.

I am so proud to be an Indian. I am lucky to be born here. Proud to be a citizen of one of the largest Democracies in the world.

I want to Salute the Indian Defense Forces who protect our borders, Our seas & our Airspace. It is because of them we rest easy.

I want to pay my Respects to those who have laid down their lives in the service of my country.

I may travel the world, but my heart is at home only in my country India. My motherland.

Happy Republic Day India!

Jai Hind!

20 thoughts on “Happy 67th Republic Day India!

  1. I checked out the lyrics to your Indian National Anthem. I imagine the English translation evades the non-verbal meaning. Americans are sooo locked into getting the “right word” for the “right meaning.” Anyway loved the verbs: rouses the hearts, echoes in the hills, mingles in the music, chanted by the waves. Oh so lovely!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Somehow the true meaning & sentiment can never be replicated in another language. It is lost in Translation most times. I am glad you took the time to watch it & look up its meaning. Means a lot to me!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I always get chills when I hear someone sing his/her national anthem! (I get chills just writing about it too!!) For me, I didn’t really appreciate my citizenship until I went abroad. I think it was the realization that I was actually representing something greater than myself: America, my homeland. My actions, my speech….what they said of me, they said of my country. That’s an awesome responsibility!! I especially like the dueling national anthem scene between the French and Germans in “Casablanca.” (FYI it takes place in German occupied French Morocco.)_ I always stand up and sing with the French!! thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. It’s very good that you posted this Arpita ! Happy Republic day to you ! Jaihind ! I have never been able to celebrate Republic day or independence day in India, but i always respect my country India and our armed forces ! My country, India is always in my heart and mind ! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy Republic Day to you as well! That is what truly matters in the end. The love for our country in our hearts. In fact I always feel people who are away from our India always feel it strongest. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

