Wat Pho – Temple of the Reclining Buddha, Bangkok

IMG_5262

Wat Pho or the Temple of the Reclining Buddha is located in the Phra Nakon District of Bangkok. This place is a must visit while you are in Bangkok.

IMG_5257

The beautiful statue of Buddha is an impressive 46m long & 15 m high & is covered in Gold leaf. The reclining posture of the Buddha illustrates his passing into Nirvana.

IMG_5260

Although the Reclining Buddha is the main attraction of the place, Do take the time out to explore the entire complex. The feel of the entire area is almost ethereal & hosts many statues of Buddha, each more beautiful than the other.

IMG_5282

The Wat Pho Complex consists of a two walled compound. The northern side hosts the Reclining Buddha while the Southern side hosts Monks & their School.

IMG_5267

IMG_5275IMG_5279

IMG_5276

Wat Pho is the birthplace of traditional Thai massage. The place has traditionally been a center for Traditional Thai medicine. You will find various drawings on the wall depicting points of massage.

IMG_5270IMG_5269

The entry costs to the Wat Pho temple is 100 baht & the temple is open to visitors between 8.00 am to 5.00pm.

I highly recommend you take time out & visit the Wat Pho, while you are here. I am sure you will love it as much as I did.

Arpita.

27 thoughts on “Wat Pho – Temple of the Reclining Buddha, Bangkok

  1. It’s a really beautiful place. Buddha statues have such serenity and beauty about them. The artists who created them must have been in a meditative state of mind 🙂

    Very beautiful pictures. 🙂

    When did you visit?

    Also: I see your profile in new commons. Have you had a chance to visit it.

    If not feel free whenever you are free 🙂

    Here is the link : https://blogging101alumni.wordpress.com/

    Cheers,
    Anand 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I love Buddha’s energy. It makes me calm & meditative. I visited Thailand in January this year. Did not want to blog it in one post because every place in Thailand is unique in its own way. From Pottery Garden to River Cruise to this Temple.
      I have not visited our new site today. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Glad to know. Would like to visit Thailand someday—you need not visit if you know it’s in the place–I vaguely remember saying hello to you over there yesterday–that’s why I asked 🙂

        Anand

        Like

  2. This takes me back to the trip my husband and I made to Bangkok. It is breathtaking. He and I spent hours walking around the compound. And your pictures are wonderful. My staircase walls are crowded with ours.

    Like

    1. Its such a beautiful place. At one point I just stopped using my camera & just enjoyed the beautiful place. There is only so much a camera captures. Thank you for sharing your story. 🙂

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

