Solo Travel

katy-perry-600x450

Solo Travel can be such a marvelous thing in itself. Its all about you. You are free to plan your days as you please, without having to worry about other persons interests or preferences.

There are times when your spouse/ friends don’t enjoy the same things that you so love! May be its Sky diving in Australia, taking a yoga retreat in Bali, or a cooking class in Thailand! Why not do it on your own! Solo travel is an amazing way to strike some things off your bucket list!

bucketlist

Solo Travel has the potential to become a journey within yourself as much as around the world. It cleanses you, heals you and teaches you so much about your own self. Its a beautiful way to move beyond your comfort zone and view the world through your own unique perspective.Its a way to enjoy the simple things in life like a beautiful sunrise, a meaningful interaction with a stranger, a warm cup of tea after a long day. A gift of time to your own self. Your own little story to tell somebody someday.

Most of us are scared before embarking on our first solo trip and its a normal reaction. the unknown can be scary. There are so many choices to be made, so many things to be considered. The most important thing however is to have a little faith in yourself. Trust me you are very capable of taking care of it all.

download (1)

There might be some challenges here and there. Choosing the perfect hotel, choosing the location to stay, your budget, taking a bus from one destination to other, language barrier, getting down at the wrong stop etc. However once you make these decisions and overcome these challenges, you will emerge more confident than ever at the end of it all.

A few things here and there if kept in mind will go a long way in making your solo trip a successful one.

Researching the place you are about to travel to is the first and most important one. So much information is available on Travel sites these days. It really helps to read experiences of other travelers who have traveled to the place you intend to visit. There are so many people who write travel blogs. in my personal experience it has helped me a lot with my travels. Getting a background information about the culture, places to visit, best hotels/hostels to live in can be very useful. And in my experience people are more than happy to help in most cases.

Apply_Indian_Passport_Online

Your documents like Passport and Identification card are extremely important. So make sure you a couple of photocopies of them with you. Also keep a electronic copy of the same, in case you happen to loose the original and photocopies both.

It is also of great importance to have Contact information of your Home Country’s Embassy in the country that you are visiting. In case of emergency, this will be of great help.

Make sure your family or friends have an itinerary of your travel. So they know on any given day where you might tentatively be.

download

Dressing Appropriately. its best if you try and research in advance about the culture of a particular place so that you can pick what clothes to carry with you when you travel. This is important especially when travelling to Islamic countries and also Hindu temples and Buddhist Shrines in different countries. A certain manner of dressing is required and is expected. As they say, When in Rome…

When it comes to consumption of Alcohol, its best to be moderate. Alcohol dulls your senses and hence makes you vulnerable. In a place where you are on your own, its best to be safe than sorry.

The most important thing I believe is to trust your intuition. If something doesn’t feel right, it probably isn’t. This is especially true when choosing a hotel and interacting with people. If a hotel looks creepy or gives you a weird vibe, leave! If a stranger acts/looks shady or gives you a bad vibe. Walk away! trust your intuition!

Just keep the above mentioned points in mind, and you will be good.

I find the most beautiful thing about solo travel, the potential of finding your own tribe! Others who love to wander on their own just like you! This is certainly the most pleasant of all the experiences, meeting like minded people. I have met some really fascinating and amazing people while travelling. some of whom have become life long friends and others who have given me beautiful memories that will last a life time.

IMG_5527

Some of the best memories I find are the ones we make when we travel. When we are away from the clutches of everyday life and routine . You are the happiest version of yourself.

If you dream of traveling the world, just take the first step. it will take courage, but on the other side lies many joys, wonders and freedom. In the end, you will be happy you did.

Arpita xo

*Some Images are sourced from Google.

10 thoughts on “Solo Travel

  1. Seems to me you’ve done a lot of travelling… πŸ™‚ I’m in my mid 20’s and never done any long term-ish solo travel, this one of the few pieces that inspires me to go solo, even just a domestic travel. The first time I went on a bus alone was to apply in a university very far from my province. I was so anxious and nauseous almost the whole time. Yep, it takes courage and when I finally got that, I’ll let you know. Thanks for this! #inspiredtogosolo ~ Girl from Benguet, Philippines

    Like

    1. Hi!
      Thanks for your comment. Its not really a part of Asian Culture for us girls to do the Solo travel thing & exploring the world on our own. Our families rarely allow it. I did most of my traveling with my family till after my University days. Like you, the first time I started travelling alone was when I went away to attend University in another state. It was three years of travelling to & fro, my solo travel started from there. My first solo trip was to my University friends hometown. It started from there. I was very scared just like you in the beginning, but it gets better eventually. And I am sure, you will be more confident now that you have taken that first first bus ride. Possibly next time, I might be the one commenting on your solo trips one of these days! I really like people from Philippines. I have met a few on my trips to Singapore & Thailand. Such amazing & friendly people! Philippines is on my list of countries I would love to travel in the future! Looking forward to interacting with you again!
      Regards,
      Arpita πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I totally agree with how Asian families are. When I studied at a university in another city, I got homesick that I made a routine of going home every month or twice a month when I was able. Homesickness made me sicker than contracting a flu. I finally gave up after six months of staying in Vigan City and returned home, plus all other excuses like the weather and the standard of living and the education I was getting which is pretty much the same when I enrol in a nearby university. πŸ˜€ So there was my trial and error for independent living. Well, not to mention, while studying there, I met other Indian students and they’re humble and very good cooks. When they cook, it’s a feast especially during occasional potluck dinners. Very colorful attire for the ladies also. Thank you, Arpita for the appreciation of my country and my fellow Filipinos. I am also in deep awe of your country, and dream of places like Jaipur, Chenai and Goa. Someday… Til next time. πŸ™‚ ~ Reiva

        Like

  2. I fully agree with your comments about solo travel. when travelling with someone else I think its easy to feel obligated to hang out with that partner, which can limit getting to know other travellers. There is always that nagging feeling of obligation. I like to do what I want, when I want, and if I just want to stay in my room and relax I an do that too. I like being alone and doing my own thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello,
      Thank you for your comment.
      I like to take things at my own pace, and rarely am an energizer bunny running from one destination to another ticking everything off the list. I like giving each place enough time, even if it means not ticking everything off my list. this rarely works when you travel with somebody. Like you I like to be alone & don my thing πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. I used to travel alone quite a bit, and occasionally met up with a group but often just me doing my thing, as you say. Pardon my snobbery, but I don’t like traveling with “tourists” who disrespect native populations and think they are above everyone in the world.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I agree with you completely. Which is why I took up solo travel. Did try out travelling with the Tourists’ once, never went that way again. πŸ™‚

        Like

    1. Hi, So far I have to say Singapore. Its a beautiful country with really nice people. Which is yours? I really like your blog, and you have a very beautiful family πŸ™‚

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

